My incredible weight loss journey

My whole life, I was a “heavy” girl, the type of girl kids used to laugh at in gym class. In college, freshman 15 quickly turned into sophomore 25 and so on. As I got a bit older, I started noticing how out of shape I really was. A little ache here, a twinge there. I was out of breath walking to my car, and seemingly exhausted by the time I got up a flight of stairs. I shrugged it all off until about 5 months into my second pregnancy, when I found myself in the back of an ambulance, being rushed to the hospital. The baby and I were fine but it was one heck of a wake up call. After I gave birth to Taylor, I decided it was time to change.

I have been on more diets than I can count. I started my first diet was at the age of 14 at the behest of my pediatrician. I ate a salad for lunch, a salad for dinner, then hid in my room and ate all the cookies I stole from the kitchen because I was still incredibly hungry. Going to see the doctor became worse than any bullying I received at school. Every time he made me step on that scale, I felt more and more guilty and ashamed. As I got older, the guilt and shame got worse. I would get motivated to get in shape only to find myself slipping and feeling like a failure all over again a few days later.

The incident during my second pregnancy was the last straw. I knew I wanted to be healthy for my family and I wanted to love myself, I just didn’t know how to get there. This is when fate really lent me a hand. A long time friend of mine invited me to her house warming party. I’ve known this woman for years and while she was never overweight, per se, she was never particularly fit either. When I saw her that night, for the first time in about 4 months, I knew I needed to do whatever she was doing. Over this short period of time my friend has transformed. One might say she was glowing with health and happiness. I got straight to the point and she was not shy in sharing her secret. Turns out she has been using Neghar Fonooni’s Lean and Lovely program to get into the best shape of her life. Needless to say, I was totally on board to try a work out program that didn’t involve salads for breakfast, lunch, and dinner combined with hours at the gym.

It has now been 4 months since I made the decision and I can honestly say, I regret not making this lifestyle change before. I have been steadily shedding fat and gaining muscle, I feel stronger and more vibrant. I know I still have ways to go but there is no better feeling than being about to go outside and play with my kids. Steve and I are planning our first camping trip in years and I can’t be more ecstatic to spend a few days enjoying the beauty of nature with my family. I will be posting updates about this journey as I still have ways to go but I can say without any doubt that this has been a truly transformative experience.

One thought on “My incredible weight loss journey

Comments are closed.