An ode to the terrible twos.

No one ever said parenting was easy. Even the second time around, raising a toddler is no walk in the park. Truth be told, my older son, Addison, was always rather quiet so I thought all the kids were like that. As other mom’s cried to me about their kid’s temper tantrums and constant misbehaving, I couldn’t help but roll my eyes thinking they were just not “doing it right”. Oh, the naivete!

When Taylor was born, she was the sweetest, most adorable little munchkin I had ever laid my eyes on. I fell more and more in love with her every time I held her in my arms. I adored her despite all the crying, despite any fussiness. She is even more adorable now that she is learning to speak, growing lovely golden hair, spending more and more time playing with her brother. That said, she is the exact opposite of him already. She is incredibly outgoing and social. She loves little play dates I set up for her, she bravely explores the world around her.

With her extroversion, however, came a slew of parenting challenges. Fortunately, a friend of mine suggested “Talking to Toddlers“, an audio course aimed to help parents develop better relationships and communication with the little ones. The course, along with some other books have been a life saver when getting through behavioral difficulties I experienced with Tay.

Despite all the sleepless nights, the many books I read over and over again, despite the long, unpleasant conversations with Steve, it has been worth it. I would do this all over again; I can’t wait to do it all over again.

“What it’s like to be a parent: It’s one of the hardest things you’ll ever do but in exchange it teaches you the meaning of unconditional love.”

<3Lacie

Comments are closed.